top of page

Giving Together Committees*

Grants ⧫ Community Service ⧫ Education ⧫ Social ⧫ Membership
Communications ⧫ Racial Equity

GRANTS

The Grants Committee evaluates proposals from area non-profits, conducts site visits and recommends the finalists to the GT board and membership, who choose the awardees at GT’s Annual Meeting each fall. The committee’s actions are currently divided between two groups. The Thematic subcommittee considers non-profits for single- and multi-year grants according to an annual theme chosen by the GT members, such as housing or health care. The Accelerator group considers grants for black-led, black-benefiting non-profits – a category often overlooked by funders.

Co-Chairs:

Christine Kessides (Thematic) - ckessides@gmail.com

Susan Alberts (Thematic) - susanalberts@gmail.com

Marea Hatziolos Grant (Thematic) - Marea.hatziolos@gmail.com
Courtney Dinsmore (Thematic) - courtney.dinsmore@gmail.com

Charla Rath (Accelerator) - charla.rath@verizon.net 

Nancy Ebb (Accelerator) - ebbford@verizon.net

COMMUNITY SERVICE

GT’s community service activities expand the impact of our grants. Committee members volunteer with GT grantees in a variety of ways that help these non-profits serve their clients in need. In this way, we stay connected to all our grantees, as well as to our Greater Washington community.

Co-Chairs:

Pam Feinstein - feinstep@gmail.com

Harriet Shugerman - hshugerman08@gmail.com

EDUCATION

The Education/Social Activities Committee arranges programs on topics of interest to our members.

Co-Chairs:

Heather Kaye - heather4604@gmail.com

Nedra Weinstein - nedra@ardenconsults.com

SOCIAL

Activities include book discussions, holiday parties, wine and cheese hours and museum visits.

Chair:

Ester Kurz Scheibel - ekurz33@gmail.com

MEMBERSHIP

The Membership Committee identifies new ways to recruit members, formulates better ways to introduce new members to GT’s work (for example, instituting a more formal on-boarding process) and continues to improve how we track and communicate with our members through GT’s database.

Co-Chairs:

Sheryl Donaldson - donaldson20015@aol.com

Paula Norwood - pn1153@gmail.com

COMMUNICATIONS

The Communications group is charged with disseminating information to members and the public about GT’s mission and ongoing activities, raising the profile of Giving Together in our community. Vehicles include emails, newsletters, social media and the website (www.giving-together.org).

Co-Chairs:

Karen Gilgoff- kgilgoff@gmail.com

Christine LaPaille - lapaillec@gmail.com

RACIAL EQUITY WORKING GROUP

In reaction to the Black Lives Matter movement, the GT Board voted to broaden our mission statement in 2020 to include the goal of “racial equity and social justice.” Creation of the REWG followed, giving members a vehicle to discuss grantmaking, education programs and other activities with that goal in mind. The Accelerator grants program was one of the REWG’s first recommendations to GT.

Chair:

Renee Licht - renee.licht@gmail.com

*All GT members in good standing are welcome to participate in GT committees.

 

bottom of page